You dont have javascript enabled! Please enable it!
logo
SEARCH
Generic filters
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Exact matches only
Filter by Categories
by Milos Pokimica ND

by Milos Pokimica ND

Learn About Nutrition

Detoxification – A Scientific Review

"There are programs of dieting designed to help reduce inflammation and overall body toxicity and increase detoxification that are backed by science."

When people talk of detoxification and cleansing protocols somehow it turns into esoteric pseudoscience. It is true that most of the detox diets out there are not scientifically proven. It is also the truth that most of the natural traditional detoxifying herbs are also not scientifically proven. However, again some of detoxification protocols have been around for thousands of years of traditional use. 

In the end, the best detoxification is to stop absorbing toxins in the first place. This means eating food that is low on a food chain to avoid the bioaccumulation of all of the POP’s (persistent organic pollutants) in a food chain. That is the only real way to lower our toxic load and to avoid the negative health effects of environmental pollution. Toxicity can kill you. It might be directly or it might be true cancer or it can create permanent and lasting chronic health diseases. The situation is serious and much more serious than most people realize. People like to think about detoxification in the form of an awesome fun weekend diet to make and pick for Instagram. WHO estimates are that environmental pollution is responsible for the deaths of millions of people globally every year directly and is responsible for tens of millions of chronic conditions that range from permanent disability to cancer.

There are programs of dieting that are designed to help reduce inflammation and overall body toxicity that are backed by science. They are all based on a natural (meaning in line with human evolution) whole food plant-based diet with a low level of environmental toxin exposure. That is it. It is our body or in other words, our liver that does the majority of the detoxification of all the chemicals that can’t be dissolved in water. Water-soluble chemicals are mostly removed and detoxification is done with the help of the kidneys.

Phase-l-and-ll-Liver-Detoxification
Water and oil don’t mix

If you think that you can eat most of the time anything that you want and go on some detoxification cleansing diet for a month or two, in reality, this will have no long-lasting effects. We can find this line of thinking in Traditional Chinese Medicine for example, or in the tradition of Nativity Fast and The Great Fast or Lent practiced by the Eastern Orthodox Churches where only fish is allowed from all animal products, and “real” fast is even without the fish too. However, that will work no more. Most of the babies are born these days already with massive toxic build-up. Most of the children in western countries have a visible arteriosclerotic plaque by the age of 7, and a significant portion of them are obese. If we do not regulate our diet on the scientific bases, meaning eat the food that science and evolution have defined not our emotional desire, any cleansing detoxification protocol is just wasting time.

There are some scientifically backed methods to lower the overall body toxicity. One of them will be to eat a lot of fiber.

Fiber bound to an excess of estrogen in the body and can have protective effects against hormonal cancers like breast cancer. Because of all of the xenoestrogens eating an adequate amount of fiber is the right decision. Also, all fat-soluble molecules like cholesterol can only be detoxified by pushing them directly into the digestive tract in the hope that they will bond with fiber and leave the body by excrement and not by kidneys that can only detoxify water-soluble chemicals.

Fiber-rich food intake is associated with a low level of lead, cadmium, mercury, and other heavy metals in the body too. Fiber bound itself to the lead and other heavy metals in such a strong way that makes absorption impossible. Absorption happens later when probiotic bacteria dissolve some of the fiber, so it is not a fail-safe solution. However, in the end, heavy metal bioavailability from animal-based foods was higher than that from vegetable-based foods because of all of the fiber and phytochemicals (1). In this study just adding kale to the pig kidneys (one of the most abundant sources of cadmium), the toxic exposure was significantly lower. When scientists measure trace element concentrations meaning exposure to lead and cadmium in subjects who changed from a mixed diet to a lactovegetarian diet same things happen (2). The plasma and hair concentrations of selenium, copper, and zinc had decreased but those of magnesium had increased. Concentrations of cadmium, lead, mercury in hair were lower. The tendency was towards the increased elimination of lead and cadmium and mercury following the change to the vegetarian diet. Within three months the levels significantly dropped and stay down for the rest of the year following experiment. After switching back to the regular diet, they come back three years later, and levels were back up to the old high values. The story of why selenium decreased by 40% in this study is because European soil (this study was done in Sweden) is severely selenium deficient. Mercury was down 20%, cadmium, and lead 50%.

There are scientifically proven specific plant species that can aid in detoxification of heavy metals and other toxins as well because of their high antioxidant potential. Plants species, in general, have effects on chelation of heavy metals and their elimination from the body but some phytochemicals are just stronger in chelating some heavy metals than others (3).

Curcumin, for example, became one of the healthiest and most researched plants in the last decades or so. Curcumin reduces the toxicity induced by mercury, chromium, cadmium, arsenic, copper, lead, maintains the liver antioxidant enzyme status and, prevents histological injury, lipid peroxidation, and glutathione (GSH) depletion, and protects against mitochondrial dysfunction. Curcumin has scavenging and chelating properties that can chelate or bound to heavy metals allowing them to be exerted out (4). We do not need to take a curcumin supplement if we don’t have kidney stones; we can just eat cheap turmeric powder mixed with ground pepper (I will explain this in more detail in one of the other articles).

Particular types of fiber and carbohydrates found in seaweed also are able to stick to heavy metals and help them be released out from the body. Seaweed compounds have been found to chelate (stick to and bind) different heavy metals including radioactive strontium (cancer-causing compound) from the body (5).

Cilantro is also very well-known and a great binder of heavy metals. The preventive effect of Coriandrum sativum, (Chinese parsley) on lead deposition was investigated in a couple of different studies (6).

Administration of Chinese parsley to mice significantly decreased lead deposition in the femur and severe lead-induced injury in the kidneys suggesting that it has chelation affinities tours lead by some undiscovered substance contained in Chinese parsley.

Besides this, we have one of the folk remedies for all illnesses in natural medicine, the garlic. When garlic is cut, crushed, or chewed, an enzyme called alliinase converts allin to allicin. Allicin in garlic is the actual active compound. It is designed to defend the plant from insects chewing on it. It is responsible for the intense odor of fresh garlic. The way we prepare garlic influences the number of beneficial compounds we receive from it. Because it is not thermostable and only gets created when cells in garlic are damaged, it must be first crushed and left alone for some time, and only when eaten raw, only then it will have its germicidal effect. What was interesting is that with antiviral and antimicrobial properties of garlic it is also a strong heavy metal detoxifier and no garlic does not have an antiplatelet activity like aspirin. The aim of this Iranian study (7) was to investigate the therapeutic effects of garlic and compare it with d-penicillamine (the pharmaceutical grade chelation therapy drug) in patients with chronic lead poisoning. They gave each subject garlic tablet containing 400 mg dried powder garlic that is equivalent to 1200 µg allicin or 2 g fresh garlic. Yes, 2 g of fresh garlic. In this case not raw garlic just a regular tablet supplement that you can buy in a store. The supplement will not give you bad breath. Garlic and the pharmaceutical grade drug both reduced lead levels by 20% and the garlic had no side effects. On another hand, there are serious side effects of d-penicillamine. Allicin is known as a chelating agent in the treatment of lead poisoning but also that S-allyl cysteine and S-allyl mercaptocysteine, both substances founded in garlic extract, inhibit lead absorption directly from the gastrointestinal tract. In addition, garlic had more clinical improvement than d-penicillamine in a number of clinical manifestations including irritability, systolic blood pressure, headache, decreased deep tendon reflex. The reason for this is that chelation drugs can only reduce blood levels. The problem is that the heavy metals are not just in the blood but are in the cells and the body’s own mechanism must remove them from the cells where chelation drugs have no impact. However, it looks like that garlic did it just by itself. It helped the entire body not just blood to detoxify. Detoxifying just by drinking water is not a whole solution.

Fat in our body acts as a deposit for these toxins. When we start to lose weight toxins get released into the bloodstream. If we are on a diet, it is not enough to go water fasting or juice fasting to detoxify. We need to eat fiber too. We need a lot of healthy bacteria in our intestines to protect us from food toxins and release chemicals that our body needs, and we will only get them from fiber-rich food.

Detoxification and weightlose

Another scientifically-backed method is to eat antioxidants to neutralize the significant amount of these toxins from doing damage to our DNA. In terms of how much antioxidants I will suggest at least 40.000 units on an ORAC scale.

We need antioxidants and fiber-rich toxin-free meals so in other words broccoli, carrots, kale, apples, and other vegetables and fruits. That is a healthy diet detoxification plan. Coffee enemas not so much.

A large amount of fiber in the diet will clean our intestines and feed our probiotic bacteria at the same time. If we want, we can add activated charcoal to the mix to clean our intestines from the inside. What activated charcoal does is it allows harmful drugs and toxins that are in the gut to bind to it. Its permeable surface has a negative electric charge. That is like an antioxidant just it is not, it does not neutralize anything it just binds to it and gets it out. It attracts positively charged ions and gas, and all oxidants and toxins are bound until you poop. This is the reason activated charcoal is often used among patients who suffered from a drug overdose or poisoning since it assists the body in eliminating these unwanted materials by attaching and not allowing them to go free and enter the bloodstream. It is a common ingredient in water filter systems as well because it can trap pesticides, solvents, industrial waste, chemicals, and other impurities.

Besides fiber, we need a large number of antioxidants to protect our cells from toxic damage. Only on top of that, we can try to do commonly known detoxifying methods like drinking a lot of herbal teas and distilled water and green and other vegetable juices, but again we should do that every day just by part of our regular lifestyle and diet. We can only live healthily and help our body do the job. Anything else like detoxifying from time to time will lead to disease.

Some scientifically proven chemicals can help our liver do a better job at detoxifying but it is just an addendum. The liver is the most crucial organ in detoxification beside the kidneys and then the intestinal tract, from the mouth to the colon. Intestinal tract does not only have the task of digestion but also of the elimination of toxins and the prevention of toxins from food to enter the blood at the first stage. Lungs and bronchi also remove toxins in the form of carbonic gas. If the liver, lungs, and kidneys do not detoxify efficiently, the body needs help from the skin that removes toxins in the form of crystals. Crystals are the remains of the breakdown metabolism of food rich in protein, such as eggs, fish, meat, and dairy. Urea is part of the group of crystals.

If you have a strong odor, it might even have clinical significance. If insulin level drops, the body begins to break down fat for fuel, which leads to a buildup of ketones. That accumulation, in turn, may produce a change in body odor, and it might be a sign it is time to see a doctor. If you want to do a trendy keto diet full of protein and low in carbs, you need to know that you are going to have a change in body odor and also an impact on the smell of your breath.

However, skin or any other organ is not the primary detoxifying engine in the body. The liver is and the kidneys.

detox pathways

If the liver is unable to detoxify for example in cases like cirrhosis, we die. If our kidneys are not able to detoxify we die or use modern technology to prolong our life like dialysis machines to clean our blood artificially.

Related Posts

  1. air pollution car free zone
  2. ph8 alkaline water
  3. stephen hawking
  4. Roxarsone chicken feed
  5. arsenic rice
  6. coffee beans sad smile
  7. white powder purple background uncut
  8. toxic pregnancy
  9. bottels toxic
  10. do not eat fish sign
  11. fish farm filthy
  12. rio de janeiro dead fish
  13. mercury fish
  14. children pesticides
  15. Rendering Plant
  16. baby with a gasmask vintage
  17. bowl of broccoli
  18. dirty water

Sources:

Passages selected from a book: “Go Vegan? Review of Science: Part 1” [Milos Pokimica]

  1. Cadmium bioavailability from vegetable and animal-based foods assessed with in vitro digestion/caco-2 cell model. J Med Assoc Thai. 2011 Feb;94(2):164-71
  2. Trace element status in healthy subjects switching from a mixed to a lactovegetarian diet for 12 mo. Am J Clin Nutr. 1992 Apr;55(4):885-90
  3. Phytochelatins and Their Roles in Heavy Metal Detoxification doi: 10.1104/pp.123.3.825.
  4. Curcumin derivatives as metal-chelating agents with potential multifunctional activity for pharmaceutical applications. J Inorg Biochem. 2014 Oct;139:38-48
  5. Alginate enhances excretion and reduces absorption of strontium and cesium in rats. Biol Pharm Bull. 2013;36(3):485-91
  6. Preventive effect of Coriandrum sativum (Chinese parsley) on localized lead deposition in ICR mice. J Ethnopharmacol. 2001 Oct;77(2-3):203-8
  7. Comparison of therapeutic effects of garlic and d-Penicillamine in patients with chronic occupational lead poisoning. Basic Clin Pharmacol Toxicol. 2012

You Might Also Like

logo

Learn About Nutrition

Medical Disclaimer

 

GoVeganWay.com brings you reviews of the latest nutrition and health-related research. The information provided represents the personal opinion of the author and is not intended nor implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.  The information provided is for informational purposes only and is not intended to serve as a substitute for the consultation, diagnosis, and/or medical treatment of a qualified physician or healthcare provider.

NEVER DISREGARD PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL ADVICE OR DELAY SEEKING MEDICAL TREATMENT BECAUSE OF SOMETHING YOU HAVE READ ON OR ACCESSED THROUGH GoVeganWay.com

NEVER APPLY ANY LIFESTYLE CHANGES OR ANY CHANGES AT ALL AS A CONSEQUENCE OF SOMETHING YOU HAVE READ IN GoVeganWay.com BEFORE CONSULTING LICENCED MEDICAL PRACTITIONER.

In the event of a medical emergency, call a doctor or 911 immediately. GoVeganWay.com does not recommend or endorse any specific groups, organizations, tests, physicians, products, procedures, opinions, or other information that may be mentioned inside.

Editor Pics

Paleo diet- No meat in sight

Paleo diet- No meat in sight

Humans evolved for 50 million years from plant-eating mammals. Hunting is not natural hominin activity. The Paleo diet only existed for the last 200,000 years.
Inflammation and diet- Vegan argument

Inflammation and diet- Vegan argument

We evolved to receive a burst of protective antioxidants when we eat but there are not present in meat. Inflammation and diet have a high level of correlation.
Cause of Obesity- Maladaptation or addiction

Cause of Obesity- Maladaptation or addiction

What is the cause of obesity epidemic? For all life on Earth, food is not a choice. The hardest thing for the animal in the wilderness is to gain weight.
Allopathic Medicine- The Rise of an Industry

Allopathic Medicine- The Rise of an Industry

The balance of medical branches remained equal to about the turn of the 20th century when new medical treatments emerged that were potentially very profitable.
Brain size, intelligence and meat consumption- The vegan argument

Brain size, intelligence and meat consumption- The vegan argument

Combining some amount of foraged meat to the predominantly vegan diet did not become a pivotal force in the emergence of human intelligence and brain size.
Pesticides in food, exposure in the standard American diet- 80 percent from meat

Pesticides in food, exposure in the standard American diet- 80 percent from meat

More than 80 percent of pesticides in food exposure in the standard American diet comes from animal products, not from fruits or vegetables.
Optimal human diet- Chronic diseases, diet wars, and the vegan argument

Optimal human diet- Chronic diseases, diet wars, and the vegan argument

Our natural optimal human diet is something that our hominin ancestors were eating for 30 million years, not anatomically modern humans in the Stone age.
Carnism- The psychology of meat consumption

Carnism- The psychology of meat consumption

Meat-eating or Carnism is the culture that is learned. Carnivores would eat any meat no matter what it is. We would only eat a few animals that we deem as food.
Allopathic Medicine-The Psychology of Fear

Allopathic Medicine-The Psychology of Fear

Around 100 years ago allopathic medicine was finally able to neutralize holistic empirical doctors. Allopathic MDs don't treat diseases, they treat symptoms.

Most Read All Time

The tale of Big Pharma- IG Farben

The tale of Big Pharma- IG Farben

The part of Rockefeller monopoly on chemical and medicine industries came into fulfillment after WW2. Standard Oil and IG Farben cooperation made this into reality.
The tale of Big Pharma- Fritz ter Meer, UN, and Codex Alimentarius

The tale of Big Pharma- Fritz ter Meer, UN, and Codex Alimentarius

The worst-case scenario for Codex Alimentarius, if it were to be implemented, is complete suppression of vitamin, mineral, and other supplements.
Patented Medicine, Herbal Remedies, and FDA approval

Patented Medicine, Herbal Remedies, and FDA approval

War on plants had been waged by industry monopolists for more than 100 years now, and the final chapter is already written in the UN.
The tale of Big Pharma- Rockefeller monopoly

The tale of Big Pharma- Rockefeller monopoly

Rockefeller monopoly on medicine and chemical industries came into fulfillment after WW2. Plan was to make medicine mandatory and use the state as an enforcer.
Allopathic Medicine- The Rise of an Industry

Allopathic Medicine- The Rise of an Industry

The balance of medical branches remained equal to about the turn of the 20th century when new medical treatments emerged that were potentially very profitable.
Cause of Obesity- Maladaptation or addiction

Cause of Obesity- Maladaptation or addiction

What is the cause of obesity epidemic? For all life on Earth, food is not a choice. The hardest thing for the animal in the wilderness is to gain weight.
The McGovern Report- Special Interest and The Suppression of Science

The McGovern Report- Special Interest and The Suppression of Science

Nutritional science had explained all of the corelations regarding diseases of affluence and animal food consumption decades ago. In 1977 the push for a change of Dietary Guidelines (McGovern Report) to more plant-based vegan one had been introduced to U.S. Congress.
The humans omnivores dilemma- Meat consumption, probiotic bacteria, inflammation, and the gut

The humans omnivores dilemma- Meat consumption, probiotic bacteria, inflammation, and the gut

Are humans omnivores in a true anatomical sense? There is a fundamental difference in the way the digestive tract works in plant vs meat-eating species.
The tale of Big Pharma- The Rockefeller Family

The tale of Big Pharma- The Rockefeller Family

The Rockefeller family privatized the medical industry in the United States at the beginning of the 20th century. From that time onward, Big Pharma giants never stopped expanding.
Pesticides in food, exposure in the standard American diet- 80 percent from meat

Pesticides in food, exposure in the standard American diet- 80 percent from meat

More than 80 percent of pesticides in food exposure in the standard American diet comes from animal products, not from fruits or vegetables.
Optimal human diet- Chronic diseases, diet wars, and the vegan argument

Optimal human diet- Chronic diseases, diet wars, and the vegan argument

Our natural optimal human diet is something that our hominin ancestors were eating for 30 million years, not anatomically modern humans in the Stone age.
Obesity Risk Factors

Obesity Risk Factors

What are the associated obesity risk factors? For all life on the planet Earth, except for us, food is not a choice.
Environmental toxicity- It is just a food chain

Environmental toxicity- It is just a food chain

Environmental toxicity is the bioaccumulation of toxins. Organisms are filters. But there is one more even worse process called biomagnification in food chain.
Inflammation and diet- Vegan argument

Inflammation and diet- Vegan argument

We evolved to receive a burst of protective antioxidants when we eat but there are not present in meat. Inflammation and diet have a high level of correlation.
Brain size, intelligence and meat consumption- The vegan argument

Brain size, intelligence and meat consumption- The vegan argument

Combining some amount of foraged meat to the predominantly vegan diet did not become a pivotal force in the emergence of human intelligence and brain size.

Around The Web, Medicine

Words count 2,357

May 29, 2022

Categories

Follow US
Join our family of social followers.
1.3kFans
154Followers
1kFollowers
201Donors
11.9kTotal Followers

Random Posts

Floating Item
Floating Item
Learn About Nutrition. 
www.goveganway.com

Learn About Nutrition.
www.goveganway.com
...

1 0
Our youngest supporters.
Learn About Nutrition. 
www.goveganway.com

Our youngest supporters.
Learn About Nutrition.
www.goveganway.com
...

0 0
Go Vegan? Review of Science. Book series. 
Learn About Nutrition. 
www.goveganway.com

Go Vegan? Review of Science. Book series.
Learn About Nutrition.
www.goveganway.com
...

1 0
Learn About Nutrition. 
www.goveganway.com

Learn About Nutrition.
www.goveganway.com
...

0 0
Learn About Nutrition. 
www.goveganway.com

Learn About Nutrition.
www.goveganway.com
...

0 0
Learn About Nutrition www.goveganway.com

Learn About Nutrition www.goveganway.com ...

0 0

Recommended Video Watchlist, Learn About Nutrition

YouTube

Click the link. HERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A short movie about the hardship people have to go through for basic health services in some part of Nepal and what local people are trying to contribute for  Universal Health Coverage.  https://youtu.be/eZBlRZmUdO0

About this video:  
What the Health is a 2017 documentary film that critiques the health impact of meat, fish, eggs, and dairy products consumption, and questions the practices of leading health and pharmaceutical organizations. Its primary purpose is to advocate for a plant-based diet.
This movie talks about Heart diseases, Diabetes, and other chronic diseases and their relation to the food we eat. 
follow on Instagram 
www.instagram.com/know_publichealth

Our facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/knowpublichealth




Details

Directed by: Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn
Produced by: Joaquin Phoenix, Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn
Written by: Kip Andersen,  Keegan Kuhn
Music by: Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn, Fernando Arce
Cinematography: Keegan Kuhn
Edited by: Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn, Ali Tabrizi (assistant)
Distributed by: A.U.M. Films & Media
Release date : March 7, 2017 (New York)
Running time: 92 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English

Know Public Health has no rights of this documentary, we just have shared the video for public health interest. All rights go to, Producers and Directors and the media house for this movie. 
You can watch this movie on Netflix (www.netflix.com)

Our (Know Public Health) vision is to make available of Public Health Awareness and knowledge/study materials to the general public from all over so that you can easily get access to the contents. You can visit our website ( www.knowpublichealth.com ) 
Feel free to comment and ask for any materials you need access to

https://amzn.to/3vEB307
What the Health is a 2017 documentary film that critiques the health impact of meat, fish, eggs, and dairy products consumption, and questions the practices of leading health and pharmaceutical organizations. Its primary purpose is to advocate for a plant-based diet.
This movie talks about Heart diseases, Diabetes, and other chronic diseases and their relation to the food we eat.
follow on Instagram
www.instagram.com/know_publichealth

Our facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/knowpublichealth




Details

Directed by: Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn
Produced by: Joaquin Phoenix, Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn
Written by: Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn
Music by: Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn, Fernando Arce
Cinematography: Keegan Kuhn
Edited by: Kip Andersen, Keegan Kuhn, Ali Tabrizi (assistant)
Distributed by: A.U.M. Films & Media
Release date : March 7, 2017 (New York)
Running time: 92 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English

Know Public Health has no rights of this documentary, we just have shared the video for public health interest. All rights go to, Producers and Directors and the media house for this movie.
You can watch this movie on Netflix (www.netflix.com)

Our (Know Public Health) vision is to make available of Public Health Awareness and knowledge/study materials to the general public from all over so that you can easily get access to the contents. You can visit our website ( www.knowpublichealth.com )
Feel free to comment and ask for any materials you need access to

10.8K 1.5K

YouTube Video UExXSlpBTjg5dURrWGF0Wkl0aDlDZG55UE1ZcEZ5dUlrbC4zMEQ1MEIyRTFGNzhDQzFB

What The Health (Netflix-Documentary) -A must watch. What doctors don't say about your food?

GoVeganWay 449K views November 11, 2021 12:45 am

This film is now FREE here on YouTube!  Please SHARE this link if you like it.  Consider supporting PlantPure - try our plant-based meal starters, which we use to fund a larger social mission, and check out other offerings on our website at PlantPureNation.com.  Visit: https://bit.ly/3o11jhY for information on our meal starters and https://bit.ly/2X39uOQ for information on our social mission.  

PlantPure Nation tells the story of three people on a quest to spread the message of one of the most important health breakthroughs of all time.  After nutritional scientist and author Dr. T. Colin Campbell speaks to the Kentucky legislature, his oldest son Nelson works with Kentucky State Representative Tom Riner to propose a pilot program documenting the health benefits of a plant-based diet.  Through this well intentioned effort, they inadvertently set in motion a series of events that expose powerful forces opposed to the diet. After industry lobbyists kill the pilot program, Nelson decides to try his own grassroots approach in his hometown of Mebane, North Carolina, before circling back to Kentucky for a dramatic ending.  
 
A growing number of celebrities, athletes, TV hosts, and nutrition experts have promoted the plant-based diet in the past few years, and tens of thousands of people have documented their personal success stories.  But as more doctors and public officials become aware of the healing power of plant-based nutrition the question arises: Why don’t they share the information with the public?  Tragically, there have been few official medical or state-sponsored efforts in the nation to support the life sustaining benefits of a whole foods plant-based diet.

PlantPure Nation was filmed across the USA and includes world-renowned experts, doctors and authors. The Production team includes Director Nelson Campbell, and Producer John Corry & Writer Lee Fulkerson from the acclaimed documentary film Forks Over Knives.

This film is now FREE here on YouTube! Please SHARE this link if you like it. Consider supporting PlantPure - try our plant-based meal starters, which we use to fund a larger social mission, and check out other offerings on our website at PlantPureNation.com. Visit: https://bit.ly/3o11jhY for information on our meal starters and https://bit.ly/2X39uOQ for information on our social mission.

PlantPure Nation tells the story of three people on a quest to spread the message of one of the most important health breakthroughs of all time. After nutritional scientist and author Dr. T. Colin Campbell speaks to the Kentucky legislature, his oldest son Nelson works with Kentucky State Representative Tom Riner to propose a pilot program documenting the health benefits of a plant-based diet. Through this well intentioned effort, they inadvertently set in motion a series of events that expose powerful forces opposed to the diet. After industry lobbyists kill the pilot program, Nelson decides to try his own grassroots approach in his hometown of Mebane, North Carolina, before circling back to Kentucky for a dramatic ending.

A growing number of celebrities, athletes, TV hosts, and nutrition experts have promoted the plant-based diet in the past few years, and tens of thousands of people have documented their personal success stories. But as more doctors and public officials become aware of the healing power of plant-based nutrition the question arises: Why don’t they share the information with the public? Tragically, there have been few official medical or state-sponsored efforts in the nation to support the life sustaining benefits of a whole foods plant-based diet.

PlantPure Nation was filmed across the USA and includes world-renowned experts, doctors and authors. The Production team includes Director Nelson Campbell, and Producer John Corry & Writer Lee Fulkerson from the acclaimed documentary film Forks Over Knives.

15.6K 1.2K

YouTube Video UExXSlpBTjg5dURrWGF0Wkl0aDlDZG55UE1ZcEZ5dUlrbC44QzVGQUU2QjE2NDgxM0M4

PlantPure Nation - The Official FREE YouTube Release

GoVeganWay 737.5K views November 11, 2021 12:45 am

#thegamechangers #netflixmovie #thegamechangersfullmovieinhindi
The Game Changer | Netflix full movie 2019 | The Game Changers Full Movie In Hindi | #thegamechanger #heelupmovie #netflix 


The Game Changer | Netflix Movie | Netflix Documentary on Vegetarian Diet | Diet for Athletes | Virat Kohli Recommended Diet | Netflix Series On Health | Healthy Diet for Sports Person | the game changers netflix | Take Control On your Diet | Healthy Food Diet | Eat vegan | The Game Changers Full Movie | the game changers trailer | the game changers movie in hindi | the game changers hindi | the game changers netflix | the game changers full movie | the game changers documentary | the game changers review | the game changers download | the game changers recipes | heal movie full in hindi | virat kohli documentry | the game changers full movie | game changer | game changer movie |
#netflix_movies
#the_game_changers #netflix #virat_kohli_diet


the game changers
the game changers netflix documentary
the game changers movie in hindi
the game changers netflix
the game changers download
the game changers documentary
The game changers hindi
the game changers review
netflix movies trailers
the game changers trailer
the game changers full movie
game changers
vegan
athletes
vegan athletes
virat kohli diet
the game changers debunked
virat kohli
virat kohli diet plan
the game changers documentary in hindi


the game changer,the game changers,game changer,game changers,the game changers movie,the game changers review,the game changers netflix,game changer ep1,game changer full,game changer trailer,i am the game changer,the game changers diet,the game changers 2018,the game changers rogan,joe rogan the game changers,motivation i am the game changer,motiversity i am the game changer,changer,the game changers documentary,the game changer (qlimax 2018 anthem),zanjeer-the game changer

#thegamechangers #netflixmovie #thegamechangersfullmovieinhindi
The Game Changer | Netflix full movie 2019 | The Game Changers Full Movie In Hindi | #thegamechanger #heelupmovie #netflix


The Game Changer | Netflix Movie | Netflix Documentary on Vegetarian Diet | Diet for Athletes | Virat Kohli Recommended Diet | Netflix Series On Health | Healthy Diet for Sports Person | the game changers netflix | Take Control On your Diet | Healthy Food Diet | Eat vegan | The Game Changers Full Movie | the game changers trailer | the game changers movie in hindi | the game changers hindi | the game changers netflix | the game changers full movie | the game changers documentary | the game changers review | the game changers download | the game changers recipes | heal movie full in hindi | virat kohli documentry | the game changers full movie | game changer | game changer movie |
#netflix_movies
#the_game_changers #netflix #virat_kohli_diet


the game changers
the game changers netflix documentary
the game changers movie in hindi
the game changers netflix
the game changers download
the game changers documentary
The game changers hindi
the game changers review
netflix movies trailers
the game changers trailer
the game changers full movie
game changers
vegan
athletes
vegan athletes
virat kohli diet
the game changers debunked
virat kohli
virat kohli diet plan
the game changers documentary in hindi


the game changer,the game changers,game changer,game changers,the game changers movie,the game changers review,the game changers netflix,game changer ep1,game changer full,game changer trailer,i am the game changer,the game changers diet,the game changers 2018,the game changers rogan,joe rogan the game changers,motivation i am the game changer,motiversity i am the game changer,changer,the game changers documentary,the game changer (qlimax 2018 anthem),zanjeer-the game changer

1.5K 80

YouTube Video UExXSlpBTjg5dURrWGF0Wkl0aDlDZG55UE1ZcEZ5dUlrbC5ENjI1QUI0MDI5NEQzODFE

The Game Changer | Netflix full movie 2019 | The Game Changers Full Movie In Hindi | #thegamechanger

GoVeganWay 94.6K views November 11, 2021 12:45 am

Are we omnivores, carnivores or herbivores? It’s important for animals to eat what they are physiologically and anatomically designed to eat, to improve the chances of survival and health. So, what are humans designed to eat? Dr. Sofia Pineda Ochoa discusses this often misunderstood topic.

The first part of the transcript is included below for reference, and the full transcript (which is too long to have here) is available on our website, along with sources and credits, at this link: http://meatyourfuture.com/2015/09/herbivores-carnivores/

[The following transcript is an approximation of the audio in  video. To hear the audio and see the accompanying visuals, please play the video.]

PARTIAL TRANSCRIPT:

Are humans herbivores, carnivores or omnivores? It’s very important for a given animal to eat what they are physiologically and anatomically designed to eat, to improve the chances of survival and health. So, what are humans designed to eat?

When looking at a species to determine what they are in terms of carnivore, omnivore or herbivore, we can look at their behavior or we can look at their biology. From a behavioral standpoint, humans behave as omnivores because we observe many humans in their behavior eating a wide variety of both animal and plant-based foods. Biologically, however, from a physiologic and anatomic standpoint, it’s a different story.

Dr. Williams C. Roberts from the National Institutes of Health and Baylor University — who is the editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Cardiology and one of the most prominent cardiologists in the world with over 1,500 publications in peer reviewed medical journals — summarized our answer very nicely. He wrote:

“Although most of us conduct our lives as omnivores, in that we eat flesh as well as vegetables and fruits, human beings have characteristics of herbivores, not carnivores. The appendages of carnivores are claws; those of herbivores are hands or hooves. The teeth of carnivores are sharp; those of herbivores are mainly flat (for grinding). The intestinal tract of carnivores is short (3 times body length); that of herbivores, long (12 times body length). Body cooling of carnivores is done by panting; herbivores, by sweating. Carnivores drink fluids by lapping; herbivores, by sipping. Carnivores produce their own vitamin C, whereas herbivores obtain it from their diet. Thus, humans have characteristics of herbivores, not carnivores.”

That’s right. Humans have characteristics of herbivores, not carnivores or omnivores — because omnivores, like bears and raccoons, actually retain most of the carnivorous characteristics, so that they are still able to digest and hunt their prey, and do so effectively.

[Remainder of transcript, along with sources and credits, available here: http://meatyourfuture.com/2015/09/herbivores-carnivores]

Are we omnivores, carnivores or herbivores? It’s important for animals to eat what they are physiologically and anatomically designed to eat, to improve the chances of survival and health. So, what are humans designed to eat? Dr. Sofia Pineda Ochoa discusses this often misunderstood topic.

The first part of the transcript is included below for reference, and the full transcript (which is too long to have here) is available on our website, along with sources and credits, at this link: http://meatyourfuture.com/2015/09/herbivores-carnivores/

[The following transcript is an approximation of the audio in video. To hear the audio and see the accompanying visuals, please play the video.]

PARTIAL TRANSCRIPT:

Are humans herbivores, carnivores or omnivores? It’s very important for a given animal to eat what they are physiologically and anatomically designed to eat, to improve the chances of survival and health. So, what are humans designed to eat?

When looking at a species to determine what they are in terms of carnivore, omnivore or herbivore, we can look at their behavior or we can look at their biology. From a behavioral standpoint, humans behave as omnivores because we observe many humans in their behavior eating a wide variety of both animal and plant-based foods. Biologically, however, from a physiologic and anatomic standpoint, it’s a different story.

Dr. Williams C. Roberts from the National Institutes of Health and Baylor University — who is the editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Cardiology and one of the most prominent cardiologists in the world with over 1,500 publications in peer reviewed medical journals — summarized our answer very nicely. He wrote:

“Although most of us conduct our lives as omnivores, in that we eat flesh as well as vegetables and fruits, human beings have characteristics of herbivores, not carnivores. The appendages of carnivores are claws; those of herbivores are hands or hooves. The teeth of carnivores are sharp; those of herbivores are mainly flat (for grinding). The intestinal tract of carnivores is short (3 times body length); that of herbivores, long (12 times body length). Body cooling of carnivores is done by panting; herbivores, by sweating. Carnivores drink fluids by lapping; herbivores, by sipping. Carnivores produce their own vitamin C, whereas herbivores obtain it from their diet. Thus, humans have characteristics of herbivores, not carnivores.”

That’s right. Humans have characteristics of herbivores, not carnivores or omnivores — because omnivores, like bears and raccoons, actually retain most of the carnivorous characteristics, so that they are still able to digest and hunt their prey, and do so effectively.

[Remainder of transcript, along with sources and credits, available here: http://meatyourfuture.com/2015/09/herbivores-carnivores]

7.7K 6.4K

YouTube Video UExXSlpBTjg5dURrWGF0Wkl0aDlDZG55UE1ZcEZ5dUlrbC5DRUQwODMxQzUyRTlGRkY3

Are humans omnivores, carnivores or herbivores?

GoVeganWay 351K views September 4, 2021 12:32 am

How much is a human life worth? An innovative cancer therapy promises to save lives. But it is extremely expensive. Will the insurance companies pay for it? What is the manufacturer's return on investment? And do lobbyists drive up prices?

In 2018, the Kymriah gene therapy was approved in Europe. Immune cells are taken from the patient, genetically reprogrammed into cancer killer cells and returned to the patient as an infusion. The results of the Kymriah study only cover a period of 18 months. In 40 percent of patients, lymph gland cancer does not return during this time. It is not clear whether Kymriah has a long-term effect. The Swiss pharmaceutical company Novartis offers the new therapy - it costs 370,000 Swiss francs per patient. Health insurance companies are not usually prepared to pay that much and are complaining about a lack of transparency. 

But the killer cells were not invented in the Novartis laboratories, but at a US university. When Professor Carl June started his research almost 30 years ago, no pharmaceutical company was interested. It was only thanks to funding from tax money and donations that he was able to develop Kymriah at all. After a story went around the world about a girl with leukemia whose cancer disappeared thanks to Kymriah, the pharmaceutical company contacted Novartis and secured exclusive marketing rights. To launch Kymriah on the market, Novartis funded the necessary clinical trials. It's not an isolated incident: Over 60% of newly approved medicines in the US are developed by small biotech companies or universities. Pharmaceutical companies today frequently act as capital providers, cooperating with universities or buying up biotech companies. 

A paradigm shift has taken place in the pharmaceutical industry: Whereas high drug prices used to be justified by research costs, the industry is now using the value of gained lifetime to argue its case. 

 -------------------------------------------------------------------

DW Documentary gives you knowledge beyond the headlines. Watch high-class documentaries from German broadcasters and international production companies. Meet intriguing people, travel to distant lands, get a look behind the complexities of daily life and build a deeper understanding of current affairs and global events. Subscribe and explore the world around you with DW Documentary.

Subscribe to: 
DW Documentary: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCW39zufHfsuGgpLviKh297Q?sub_confirmation=1#

DW Documental (Spanish): https://www.youtube.com/dwdocumental
DW Documentary وثائقية دي دبليو: (Arabic): https://www.youtube.com/dwdocarabia

For more visit:
http://www.dw.com/en/tv/docfilm/s-3610
Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/dwdocumentary/
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/dw.stories

DW netiquette policy: https://p.dw.com/p/MF1G

How much is a human life worth? An innovative cancer therapy promises to save lives. But it is extremely expensive. Will the insurance companies pay for it? What is the manufacturer's return on investment? And do lobbyists drive up prices?

In 2018, the Kymriah gene therapy was approved in Europe. Immune cells are taken from the patient, genetically reprogrammed into cancer killer cells and returned to the patient as an infusion. The results of the Kymriah study only cover a period of 18 months. In 40 percent of patients, lymph gland cancer does not return during this time. It is not clear whether Kymriah has a long-term effect. The Swiss pharmaceutical company Novartis offers the new therapy - it costs 370,000 Swiss francs per patient. Health insurance companies are not usually prepared to pay that much and are complaining about a lack of transparency.

But the killer cells were not invented in the Novartis laboratories, but at a US university. When Professor Carl June started his research almost 30 years ago, no pharmaceutical company was interested. It was only thanks to funding from tax money and donations that he was able to develop Kymriah at all. After a story went around the world about a girl with leukemia whose cancer disappeared thanks to Kymriah, the pharmaceutical company contacted Novartis and secured exclusive marketing rights. To launch Kymriah on the market, Novartis funded the necessary clinical trials. It's not an isolated incident: Over 60% of newly approved medicines in the US are developed by small biotech companies or universities. Pharmaceutical companies today frequently act as capital providers, cooperating with universities or buying up biotech companies.

A paradigm shift has taken place in the pharmaceutical industry: Whereas high drug prices used to be justified by research costs, the industry is now using the value of gained lifetime to argue its case.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

DW Documentary gives you knowledge beyond the headlines. Watch high-class documentaries from German broadcasters and international production companies. Meet intriguing people, travel to distant lands, get a look behind the complexities of daily life and build a deeper understanding of current affairs and global events. Subscribe and explore the world around you with DW Documentary.

Subscribe to:
DW Documentary: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCW39zufHfsuGgpLviKh297Q?sub_confirmation=1#

DW Documental (Spanish): https://www.youtube.com/dwdocumental
DW Documentary وثائقية دي دبليو: (Arabic): https://www.youtube.com/dwdocarabia

For more visit:
http://www.dw.com/en/tv/docfilm/s-3610
Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/dwdocumentary/
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/dw.stories

DW netiquette policy: https://p.dw.com/p/MF1G

9.2K 1.9K

YouTube Video UExXSlpBTjg5dURrWGF0Wkl0aDlDZG55UE1ZcEZ5dUlrbC41NkI0NEY2RDEwNTU3Q0M2

The power of the pharmaceutical companies | DW Documentary

GoVeganWay 648.6K views September 4, 2021 12:24 am

error: Alert: Content is protected !!